Picture
Back in August, I'd written "Two Quilt Events at Black Creek Pioneer Village in Toronto" to publicize two quilt shows.

["A Quilt Hung for an Auction" image by Les_Stockton].

Actually the first was a quilt show and sale called "Quilts in the Creek". Black Creek Pioneer Village partnered with
York Heritage Quilters Guild in August 2014.

The Toronto Mennonite Festival runs its annual quilt auction on the third Saturday of September. The quilt auction is the major fundraiser that day, although they also sell very good food. This event, formerly known as "Black Creek Pioneer Village MCC Relief Sale", supports Mennonite Central Committee (MCC) financially.

MCC pursues "
relief, development and peace around the world". (That's relief as "famine relief" and "disaster relief", mainly in the Third World).

Disclosure: I serve on the Toronto Mennonite Festival board as a member of one of the supporting churches. I also sell Sloppy Joes (and a vegetarian version we call "Veggie Joes") at this festival. But I'm not paid for doing those things, and I'm not paid to advertise these events.

A Writing Tip for Disclosures

Today's simple writing tip is to include a simple disclosure when you write about something in which you have an otherwise-hidden vested interest.

If I were to write about "my DeHaan Services business", then it would be obvious that
I'm promoting something for myself. I wouldn't write a disclosure because I would have said "Contact me for your writing needs"! If you blog about walking your own dog, it's overtly about you; but there's no need for a disclosure unless you also walk other people's dogs for a living.

In the above article, you'd never guess that I have any involvement in the Toronto Mennonite Festival... until the disclosure.

When I promote other events, I include a "no relationship" disclaimer. See what I mean near the end of "Find the Beach Celtic Festival 2014 in Toronto".

Thanks for reading about these quilt auction, show and sale events at Black Creek Pioneer Village in Toronto.

A Writing Tip for Joint Blogs

(Added Sept. 13, 2014). Part of my mandate with the Toronto Mennonite Festival is publicity; but that is shared with several other Board members.

I couldn't post the pictures of the quilts until the people who collect and store these items had photographed and e-mailed the images. Once I began posting them, an alert reader asked "What size are these quilts"?

Oops! That's important for people bidding on the quilts; but due to an oversight no-one told me.

This writing tip says: when you collaborate on a writing project, specify who gathers the information; what data is required; and then be sure that all the facts get to the writer.

By all means, scroll through the Toronto Mennonite Festival's quilt auction page to see the latest quilts donated to raise money to support Mennonite Central Committee's projects in development, relief and social justice.



Leave a Reply.

    Author:
    Mike DeHaan

    Mike DeHaan began writing professionally in 2010 as the sole proprietor of DeHaan Services.To see this information with the best background image, please refer to "About.Me",  befriend me at Facebook, or circle me at Google+.

    Socialize...

    Circle me at Google+ with: .
    Google_+1 this post or page with:

    StumbleUpon this post or page with:

    Zoom me when it's Canadian content: .

    Friend me at Facebook.

    Tweet this article via

    Thanks!

    Categories

    All
    Article
    Articles
    Business Tips
    Nature
    Weebly
    Writing
    Writing Tip
    Writing Tips
    Writing Wordpress

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011

    Flexible Sidebar

    Weebly's "Blog Author" widget from the Blog Sidebar's Elements menu provides a lot of flexibility. You can change both the title and the text.

    It has all the capabilities for text editing that you find in most Weebly text widgets.

    At this point, I don't see a way to code any HTML in this widget.

    The "Picture" does what you expect: it displays an image of your choice. I just added my home-made picture of "Copyright DeHaan Services 2013" as the top element in this sidebar on Jan. 22, 2013.

    The "Search Box" is a "Pro" feature; if you're paying for Weebly hosting, it may be worthwhile.

    The other widgets are pre-programmed to do what they say.


Check PageRank