Picture"Wet Women's Cancer Walk in Little India Toronto #1" image by Mike DeHaan
Today was the first time the "Weekend to End Women's Cancers" walk went through my neighbourhood in Toronto. I went out into nearby Little India on Lower Gerrard to take a few photographs. Then I wrote up my experience in "One View of the 2013 March to End Womens Cancers".

In the above photo, note the white arrow on a pink circle; that's their signpost.

Picture"Wet Women's Cancer Walk in Little India Toronto #2" image by Mike DeHaan
Who am I to resist the call of the camera? On Sept. 7, 2013, this was the scene outside the Gerard-Ashdale library.

Picture"A Sign for the 2013 Women's Cancer Walk #1" image by Mike DeHaan
I also took a couple pictures of one sign signalling the walkers to turn.

Picture"A Sign for the 2013 Women's Cancer Walk #2" image by Mike DeHaan
Both of the "sign" images are pretty similar.

Picture"Wet Women's Cancer Walk in Little India Toronto #3" image by Mike DeHaan
Here's the last photograph I took this morning. Now I realize that I could not hold the camera steady in the overhead position, but didn't know it until seeing the larger image on my computer.

One Writing Tip from the 2013 Women's Cancer March

I've written about keeping alert for writing opportunities in previous writing tips, but nearly missed this one. What was my first mistake this time? Not doing any research into the 2013 Women's Cancer March.

My usual approach is to cover annual Toronto events before they occur, so people can participate or watch. However, the more preparation or expense is involved, the less I'm inclined to write a report.

The March to End Women's Cancers is a very worthy cause, but it takes a lot of preparation. Not only do you need to be able to walk 30Km a day for two days straight, you also need to raise $2000 for the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. The time-frame is much longer than "you have a few weeks to pre-order advance discount CNE tickets online".

So I decided not to publicize the 2013 Cancer March. Even though I learned, yesterday, that the route would include my Little India and Eastern Beach neighbourhoods, I'd already discounted this opportunity to write an article.

My writing tip is to recognize and seize topics that fit anywhere near your niche.

Learn more at the official 2013 March to End Women's Cancers web site.



Leave a Reply.

    Author:
    Mike DeHaan

    Mike DeHaan began writing professionally in 2010 as the sole proprietor of DeHaan Services.To see this information with the best background image, please refer to "About.Me",  befriend me at Facebook, or circle me at Google+.

    Socialize...

    Circle me at Google+ with: .
    Google_+1 this post or page with:

    StumbleUpon this post or page with:

    Zoom me when it's Canadian content: .

    Friend me at Facebook.

    Tweet this article via

    Thanks!

    Categories

    All
    Article
    Articles
    Business Tips
    Nature
    Weebly
    Writing
    Writing Tip
    Writing Tips
    Writing Wordpress

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011

    Flexible Sidebar

    Weebly's "Blog Author" widget from the Blog Sidebar's Elements menu provides a lot of flexibility. You can change both the title and the text.

    It has all the capabilities for text editing that you find in most Weebly text widgets.

    At this point, I don't see a way to code any HTML in this widget.

    The "Picture" does what you expect: it displays an image of your choice. I just added my home-made picture of "Copyright DeHaan Services 2013" as the top element in this sidebar on Jan. 22, 2013.

    The "Search Box" is a "Pro" feature; if you're paying for Weebly hosting, it may be worthwhile.

    The other widgets are pre-programmed to do what they say.


Check PageRank