Picture
"Nine Countries Firearms Homicide and Suicide Rates in 2006" : image by Mike DeHaan
As always, when I create original images for articles published at sites operated by other people, I first release the pictures in my own blog.

In this case, Decoded Science published my "Could Firearms Statistics Support Gun Control after Newtown?" the same day I submitted the article.


Picture
"US States Firearms Murder Rates versus Median Income" : image by Mike DeHaan
By publishing images in my own blog first, I establish my copyright for my original work.

Picture
"Math Formulas for Mean and Variance" : image by Mike DeHaan
The first two graphs are examples of statistical presentations. The last shows the formulas that spreadsheets use to calculate some of the results.

Publicity for my Gun Statistics Article

After publication, my article will also be publicized in DeHaan Services ("How Gun Statistics may Arise after the Newton Shootings") and in my Xanga blog ("Do Statistics Matter after the Newton Shootings?").

A Graphic Writing Tip

My graphic writing tip is that word processors such as Microsoft Word (or Open Office Writer) can be a great help for specific types of technical writing such as mathematics. I sometimes need a graphic tool like Microsoft Paint too.

Some online publishing environments such as WordPress support math symbols. In edit mode, click on the "capital Omega" symbol from the tool list, and out pops that set of characters.

Windows PCs offer the Character Map program to select those characters. You can scroll through all the available fonts to find "symbol". I just tried to paste that "capital Omega" here, but Weebly translated it back into 'W'.

The same fonts are available in Word.

However, I have no idea how to put the superscripts and subscripts directly into WordPress, let alone putting "i=0" and 'N' below and above the summation sign (the "capital Sigma").

Superscripts and subscripts are easy in Word. Just remember to make the font size bigger so it's easily visible in the graphic image.

Once I typed all the symbols and formulas into Word, I zoomed in so that area filled most of the screen. I captured the image by clicking the "Print Screen" key, then pasted it into Paint.

In Paint, I cropped the image to the area I wanted. I also used that tool to capture and move the "i=0" to its new location underneath the "capital Sigma".

A final manipulation adds a thick dark rectangle as the border for the image. Otherwise the white background might simply bleed into the final online article.

So there's my graphic writing tip for including math symbols and formulas into online articles such as my views on gun statistics for firearms homicides such as the recent tragedy in Newtown, CT.



Leave a Reply.

    Author:
    Mike DeHaan

    Mike DeHaan began writing professionally in 2010 as the sole proprietor of DeHaan Services.To see this information with the best background image, please refer to "About.Me",  befriend me at Facebook, or circle me at Google+.

    Socialize...

    Circle me at Google+ with: .
    Google_+1 this post or page with:

    StumbleUpon this post or page with:

    Zoom me when it's Canadian content: .

    Friend me at Facebook.

    Tweet this article via

    Thanks!

    Categories

    All
    Article
    Articles
    Business Tips
    Nature
    Weebly
    Writing
    Writing Tip
    Writing Tips
    Writing Wordpress

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011

    Flexible Sidebar

    Weebly's "Blog Author" widget from the Blog Sidebar's Elements menu provides a lot of flexibility. You can change both the title and the text.

    It has all the capabilities for text editing that you find in most Weebly text widgets.

    At this point, I don't see a way to code any HTML in this widget.

    The "Picture" does what you expect: it displays an image of your choice. I just added my home-made picture of "Copyright DeHaan Services 2013" as the top element in this sidebar on Jan. 22, 2013.

    The "Search Box" is a "Pro" feature; if you're paying for Weebly hosting, it may be worthwhile.

    The other widgets are pre-programmed to do what they say.


Check PageRank