My recent article in Decoded Science mentions Bayesian statistical analysis. Naturally, one simply cannot write about Bayes without his Theorem.

My article, "Population Prediction of More Retirees, Fewer Workers by 2100", was also linked by Real Clear Science.

Picture
"Bayes' Theorem" image by Mike DeHaan
And naturally it's easier to write an equation in Microsoft Word, then copy to and adjust as a Paint image, than to use a WordPress editor to type the symbols directly into the article.

As noted before, it's also easier to claim copyright if the art is a prior work in one's own online blog.

Further Publicity

Picture
"A Real Clear Science Link to Decoded Science" image by Mike DeHaan
Very desirable publicity is a link from another online magazine that deals with related topics. On Aug. 20, 2012, Real Clear Science linked to my Decoded Science article. "Woot" is my response.

Further publicity, as usual, includes my Xanga blog ("Our Great-Grandkids Will Be Busy in 2100 per UN Population Prediction") and an article in DeHaan Services ("Predicting Lower Worker to Retiree Ratio for 2100").

One Bayesian Writing Tip for SEO

It's just as well I hadn't written my writing tip for this post until after the article was published.

That's because I had no idea it would be one link among many in Real Clear Science.

As any SEO (Search Engine Optimization) ful kno, the search engines reward articles that are linked from "high quality" sites. The link noted above is an example. It will make my article just a bit more "desirable" when someone searches for its keywords.

That should be good for Decoded Science, and ultimately for me.

I don't know whether my editor pursued Real Clear Science's editors, or if they just noticed my article.

My writing tip for improving your chances in the online world of search engines follows.

If you're serious about making your mark online, one way is to encourage other sites to link to your articles.

How? Make personal contact with influential editors in your topic areas. It does not matter whether you meet face-to-face, by telephone, e-mail, or as is more likely, pursue them in social media such as Facebook, LinkedIn or Google+.

Include an RSS Feed on your site, to make it easy for people to follow your every post.

Publicize each new article; again, whether through social media or by using your contact list.

Finally, the content must be well written and suitable for the target audience.

While you're busy with this writing tip, I'm going to continue promoting my "population trends" article.



Leave a Reply.

    Author:
    Mike DeHaan

    Mike DeHaan began writing professionally in 2010 as the sole proprietor of DeHaan Services.To see this information with the best background image, please refer to "About.Me",  befriend me at Facebook, or circle me at Google+.

    Socialize...

    Circle me at Google+ with: .
    Google_+1 this post or page with:

    StumbleUpon this post or page with:

    Zoom me when it's Canadian content: .

    Friend me at Facebook.

    Tweet this article via

    Thanks!

    Categories

    All
    Article
    Articles
    Business Tips
    Nature
    Weebly
    Writing
    Writing Tip
    Writing Tips
    Writing Wordpress

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011

    Flexible Sidebar

    Weebly's "Blog Author" widget from the Blog Sidebar's Elements menu provides a lot of flexibility. You can change both the title and the text.

    It has all the capabilities for text editing that you find in most Weebly text widgets.

    At this point, I don't see a way to code any HTML in this widget.

    The "Picture" does what you expect: it displays an image of your choice. I just added my home-made picture of "Copyright DeHaan Services 2013" as the top element in this sidebar on Jan. 22, 2013.

    The "Search Box" is a "Pro" feature; if you're paying for Weebly hosting, it may be worthwhile.

    The other widgets are pre-programmed to do what they say.


Check PageRank