Picture

"Three Modern Mennonite Hymnals on a Quilt" image by Mike DeHaan

On Sept. 14, I decided to take an alternative approach to promoting the Toronto Mennonite Festival.

My focus had been on the quilt auction, which may be a unique opportunity in Toronto.

However, the festival also offers about an hour of 4-part singing in the Mennonite Meeting House. It's another building in Black Creek Pioneer Village, the venue for this whole event.

So then I wrote a new article, "Mennonite Singing in Toronto at Black Creek Pioneer Village", to publicize that opportunity.

I'd also updated the "Fun and Musical Activities" page in the Toronto Mennonite Festival web site.

This also gave me the chance to promote the three current Mennonite hymnals, shown in my photo above.

In addition, I mentioned the Junction Music Festival (on Dundas St. West) as well as the Manifest Live music and dance event at Yonge Dundas Square. After all, many of my DeHaan Services articles mention free or frugal events in Toronto.

One Writing Tip for Multi-Purpose Articles

I'd already written about the Toronto Mennonite Festival and its quilts in "Two Quilt Events at Black Creek Pioneer Village in Toronto". Why write about it again?

The first reason is that it deserves more publicity, since it's a good cause with a very limited budget for promotion. (Disclosure: My unpaid role is to promote it).

Secondly, I found another angle: the music rather than the quilts. Just as my "Two Quilt Events..." article multi-tasked for two events, so does "Mennonite Singing...".

Finally, my article multi-tasks by providing new keywords for advertising. The first article was all about quilts; this was about the music. In fact, I added Amazon links so Skimlinks could monetize any clicks.

So the writing tip for multi-purpose articles is to plan ahead! In my case, I needed to:

  • Promote an event...
  • Using new keywords to attract new readers...
  • While monetizing my article with descriptions and links to products.


    Thanks for reading about multi-purpose promotional articles!



Leave a Reply.

    Author:
    Mike DeHaan

    Mike DeHaan began writing professionally in 2010 as the sole proprietor of DeHaan Services.To see this information with the best background image, please refer to "About.Me",  befriend me at Facebook, or circle me at Google+.

    Socialize...

    Circle me at Google+ with: .
    Google_+1 this post or page with:

    StumbleUpon this post or page with:

    Zoom me when it's Canadian content: .

    Friend me at Facebook.

    Tweet this article via

    Thanks!

    Categories

    All
    Article
    Articles
    Business Tips
    Nature
    Weebly
    Writing
    Writing Tip
    Writing Tips
    Writing Wordpress

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011

    Flexible Sidebar

    Weebly's "Blog Author" widget from the Blog Sidebar's Elements menu provides a lot of flexibility. You can change both the title and the text.

    It has all the capabilities for text editing that you find in most Weebly text widgets.

    At this point, I don't see a way to code any HTML in this widget.

    The "Picture" does what you expect: it displays an image of your choice. I just added my home-made picture of "Copyright DeHaan Services 2013" as the top element in this sidebar on Jan. 22, 2013.

    The "Search Box" is a "Pro" feature; if you're paying for Weebly hosting, it may be worthwhile.

    The other widgets are pre-programmed to do what they say.


Check PageRank