Picture
"Vote in the 2012 Presidential Election" image by DonkeyHotey
My latest Decoded Science article, "A Statistical Method for 2012 Election Vote Fraud Allegations", provides one pro forma approach to a statistical method for the analysis of an hypothesis or allegation.

In this case, we reviewed the "108% voter registration in Wood County, Ohio" allegation that implied that Obama won the Wood County election thanks to the 8% more people registered to vote than voting-age people who lived in Wood County according to the 2010 census.

My article shows how one could use the 2012 opinion polls to determine whether to accept or reject the hypothesis that over 8000 excess votes were cast for Obama in Wood County.


Promoting my 108% Voter Fraud Article

As is my usual practice, both DeHaan Services ("Could Statistics Support the 108% Voter Fraud Allegation?") and my Xanga blog ("How Could Statistics Check Voter Fraud?") promote my Decoded Science article.


One Democratic Writing Tip taken from "108% Registration Fraud"

This should be a short writing tip with a sharp focus, because the tip is to "focus sharply".

When I began researching this article, I saw a double allegation. First was that the 108% voter registration was fraudulent. The second allegation was that the extra 8,000+ registrations led to Obama's victory in Wood County, Ohio.

One might write a short book to cover that pair of topics, but Decoded Science prefers to finish within about 1,000 words.

Therefore I decided to avoid deciding whether the 108% registration was an unusual event, or consistent with previous elections. As well, any discussion of the legal processes of the US Census, or Ohio voter registration, were explicitly put aside rather than explored.

Instead, I crafted one "hypothesis" about the actual versus expected election result in Wood County for 2012. That became the sharp focus of my article.

Both statisticians and writers benefit from clear and concise statements.

Incidentally and slightly off the topic of this writing tip, I re-used some of my calculations from my recent post-election article in Decoded Science, "Reliable Pollster Report Card in 2012 Presidential Election". If I hadn't already crunched numbers from opinion polls, I might have reported on other numbers: census, versus voter registration, versus total votes cast, versus margin of victory. The method would be extremely similar, but since I already had reviewed some data, I made use of it. This also saved some room in the "108% Fraud" article, since the "Pollster Report Card" had determined values such as the standard deviation which I needed for the recent article.



Leave a Reply.

    Author:
    Mike DeHaan

    Mike DeHaan began writing professionally in 2010 as the sole proprietor of DeHaan Services.To see this information with the best background image, please refer to "About.Me",  befriend me at Facebook, or circle me at Google+.

    Socialize...

    Circle me at Google+ with: .
    Google_+1 this post or page with:

    StumbleUpon this post or page with:

    Zoom me when it's Canadian content: .

    Friend me at Facebook.

    Tweet this article via

    Thanks!

    Categories

    All
    Article
    Articles
    Business Tips
    Nature
    Weebly
    Writing
    Writing Tip
    Writing Tips
    Writing Wordpress

    Archives

    November 2013
    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013
    July 2013
    June 2013
    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013
    December 2012
    November 2012
    October 2012
    September 2012
    August 2012
    July 2012
    June 2012
    May 2012
    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    November 2011
    October 2011
    September 2011
    August 2011
    July 2011
    June 2011
    May 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011

    Flexible Sidebar

    Weebly's "Blog Author" widget from the Blog Sidebar's Elements menu provides a lot of flexibility. You can change both the title and the text.

    It has all the capabilities for text editing that you find in most Weebly text widgets.

    At this point, I don't see a way to code any HTML in this widget.

    The "Picture" does what you expect: it displays an image of your choice. I just added my home-made picture of "Copyright DeHaan Services 2013" as the top element in this sidebar on Jan. 22, 2013.

    The "Search Box" is a "Pro" feature; if you're paying for Weebly hosting, it may be worthwhile.

    The other widgets are pre-programmed to do what they say.


Check PageRank